PDA

View Full Version : Graphical strange bug...



Childeric Kaldor
15-04-2005, 22:22
I've some strange bug...

To help you to understand it, I'll describe it :
- All is find for about 1 hour up to 2 hours...
- Then, after zoning or accessing new landscape area, on texture loading, I see partial loading of the char (only the clothes, not the head or the hands, same for the trees where only trunk appear... things like that then moving the camera 360 solve it...
- 3 or 4 loading later, the screen go blue... If I just minimize the window/full screen game then maximise, it solve the problem... For about an hour again.

It look like a video memory filling issue... All I can add is that I don't think it's an overheating problem because I changed heatsink on my video card, tested it recently and there's no issues, I can play every game I've for hours without any artifact/crash, including Halflife 2 or Unreal Tournament 2004. It seems to be related with how the game manage texture loading or maybe related with auto-lowering detail system... dunno.

I tried to force High Quality in drivers but still happens. I tried with any nVidia... from 66.93 up to the newest 76.xx

- AMD Athlon64 3000+
- Asus K8N
- 2x512Mo DDR400 PC3200 Kingston
- MSI GeForce NX6600GT 128Mo DDR900 (VTD-128)
- SB Audigy Platinium
- Windows XP SP2 and DirectX 9.0c

optimussword
15-04-2005, 23:32
I've been using these drivers on my Nvidia cards for a while now and I've been very happy with the results. www.omegadrivers.com

Childeric Kaldor
16-04-2005, 00:16
6600GT aren't supported by those.

Clara Cantiones
17-04-2005, 15:58
I have the same bug. I have a 6600GT, too.

Childeric Kaldor
17-04-2005, 16:53
Wich one ? MSI ? Asus ? Wich type of cooling and RAM :)

Because we (me and Arena.net support) think it's related to overheat of the Card RAM... I'm not sure... because I made many improvement to my cooling but still happens.

This time, today, it finished by a return to desktop (Used Alt+F4) and get a 640x480 in 4 bits color depth... Need to delog, relog with another userd to solve it... It's 2nd time this bug happens and I'm always scared my card will go too heat and ... burn.

GPU temperature is 54 in full charge, wich is ok... HSI heatsink is a bit warm but can put my fingers on it. Same for RAM heatsinks. So from WHERE THIS PROBLEMS is coming (I tested on a fresh new card, same type, bug is here TOO !)

Clara Cantiones
18-04-2005, 01:39
Hi. I have a PNY-GF 6600 GT. I installed another 120 mm fan in my case and it's all pretty cool. I checked that with speed-fan. I couldn't really play today, because of this bug. Had to restart 30 times. :(

I would be great, if they solve this bug, because otherwise this great game would be useless for me. ( I preordered it, and now I'm thinking about cancelling it) Is there any way to get a feedback, if they solve this?

Childeric Kaldor
18-04-2005, 16:42
I think you should have a look to Guru3D forums and try to find how to activate the temp gauge... Seems that can be a driver bug too... as some people said...

Manufacturers of graphic cards put bad heatsinks and fans onto cards... you should really activate the temp gauge... and use rivatuner to monitor it a while because I think you'll find heavy temp.

ArchAngel Sabastian
19-04-2005, 00:57
Ive had this same type or problem however there was no specific time frame for it.

AMD Mobile Athlon64 3000+
ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 w/ omega drivers
1Gig DDR 2700
XP SP2 DirectX 9.0c

i can only highly doubt my computer is the cause i can play UT2K4 at the max settings and have no lag or any graphic issue.

Clara Cantiones
19-04-2005, 10:43
Yes, thats what I think too. I can play every single game for hours without any problem. :confused:
It's sad, that PNY removed the temp gauges.

Childeric Kaldor
19-04-2005, 21:45
I suggest you all report your problems to support.guildwars.com ... they like this kind of reports :) You can link back to this post.

John Von Pert
22-04-2005, 00:28
I know this probably doesn't matter, but I put a BFG 6600 GT in my sister's system and she played GW all weekend with us without a problem. I think she's still running the 66.93 drivers.

M-Totenkopf
23-04-2005, 03:52
this is some of the textures gliches, i did just minimize the game and put it back on, and it fixed it self. the last 1 is a gift so u can see some of the stuff that happent this last betta.

http://img111.echo.cx/img111/5922/gw0084dg.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)


http://img111.echo.cx/img111/9167/gw0988lq.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

http://img111.echo.cx/img111/518/gw1239xs.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

http://img111.echo.cx/img111/3737/gw1705nm.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

Clara Cantiones
23-04-2005, 10:37
Yes! Finally someone made a screenshot. :) The first one is my error, too.
I'll write an email to arena.net today. Can I use your screenshot?

M-Totenkopf
24-04-2005, 07:11
Yes! Finally someone made a screenshot. :) The first one is my error, too.
I'll write an email to arena.net today. Can I use your screenshot?

sure np. :happy34:

blank
24-04-2005, 08:09
I don't. I have an Nvidia 6800GT.

Clara Cantiones
25-04-2005, 23:07
Hi.
I got an reply from ArenaNet:


Niklas,

From your initial description, it sounds like the issue could be heat related. Make sure that all fans are spinning and there isn't too much dust in the case. You may also try playing with the side off the case and blowing a house fan into the system to increase air circulation. Also, you may try running Aquamark 3D, a benchmarking utility, that will stress your card and should indicate if there is a problem with the graphics hardware.

Thanks,

Well I did that, an as expected Aquamark ran fine, like every other game, that I played in the past months. Sad. :(

snipe_the_snipe
01-05-2005, 09:17
you all say ur using the same card ? and the same problem is happening ? well i have a old radeon 9600XT and a pc with a Nvidia G4 Ti4600 and a Dell with intergrated and all three pcs run the game fine dell runs it at low detail but it still runs ....... What i think u might try is maybe using a Older model/3months ago model cards if they work then im sure its just a bug in IF alot of diff type of cards do it if not then it might just be the type of card and its drivers messing up =/ or just try running the game in LOWEST setting and then try rearraging the settings till maximum preformance thats what i did with the dell and it runs smooth now

idlepure
27-06-2005, 21:25
Yep this is the exact same problem I am having. It like textures randomly just don't load and when you alt-tab the game it self corrects.

It's more of an annoyance then anything as I can play the game just have to alt tab so often.

Run the 6600 GT PCI-E.

XeroTheta
27-06-2005, 21:35
Anyone notice something interesting here...?



- AMD Athlon64 3000+
- Asus K8N
- 2x512Mo DDR400 PC3200 Kingston
- MSI GeForce NX6600GT 128Mo DDR900 (VTD-128)
- SB Audigy Platinium
- Windows XP SP2 and DirectX 9.0c



AMD Mobile Athlon64 3000+
ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 w/ omega drivers
1Gig DDR 2700
XP SP2 DirectX 9.0c

The both have 64 bit processors, with completely different video cards.

Operating systems are the same, ram is fine...

Maybe this is a 64 bit processing issue?

idlepure
29-06-2005, 15:05
I just installed the 77.72 drivers and it corrected the problem I was having like shown above in Guild Wars.

But I can see heat and or power supply possibly being issues for the AGP uses of the 6 series cards perhaps.

But I think GW still has issues as after a few hours of play the game starts to slow down and if I alt+tab out it goes back to blazing full speed.

Oh well once every few hours is better then ever 20min :happy34:

DarkY
29-06-2005, 15:57
Wich one ? MSI ? Asus ? Wich type of cooling and RAM :)

Because we (me and Arena.net support) think it's related to overheat of the Card RAM... I'm not sure... because I made many improvement to my cooling but still happens.

This time, today, it finished by a return to desktop (Used Alt+F4) and get a 640x480 in 4 bits color depth... Need to delog, relog with another userd to solve it... It's 2nd time this bug happens and I'm always scared my card will go too heat and ... burn.

GPU temperature is 54 in full charge, wich is ok... HSI heatsink is a bit warm but can put my fingers on it. Same for RAM heatsinks. So from WHERE THIS PROBLEMS is coming (I tested on a fresh new card, same type, bug is here TOO !)

Had it once, leaving GW and get desktop in 640X480. (1 or 2 days ago)
My 6600gt is from XFX (dual dvi version)
Really think its on Anet side, not from the warmth of your GPU.
If you can run 3dmark05 without errors, then you can run GW.

The one posting those 3pics: I had the same, and like i mentioned above. This was the time, my desktop was 640X480.