PDA

View Full Version : Profession choice. Advice appreciated.

TalonSlayer
04-05-2005, 22:22
In EverQuest, I was a Cleric. In Star Wars: Galaxies, I was a Doctor/Combat Medic. In Shadowbane, I was a Priest. In City of Heroes, I was an Empath. In World of Warcraft, I was a Priest. You can probably spot a trend.

I'd like to continue my habit of being a primary healer, but from what I've heard, Monk primaries tend to go down quickly. I've heard that an E/Mo is superior, due to Energy Storage. I was told that Me/Mo is better due to Fast Casting. Actually, in-game, people have advised me to choose just about every combo, because it's "better".

I'm not a Min-Maxer. I simply derive my fun from being useful to a group. I'm wondering... what combination would you recommend? It doesn't have to involve Monk-- I've played other classes in games, and can play anything effectively. If, for example, the world is short on Rangers, I could make one of those.

So, essentially, I'm asking-- what professions, or combinations thereof, would you like to see inhabit the world? When you think "Damn, we need more ___", what profession do you think of? Is it a Healer-base, as in most other games?

I apologize for my rambling post. I appreciate your time, and thank you in-advance for any advice you can offer.

Telastyn
04-05-2005, 22:45
That depends on your style of play. Making your primary a monk isn't terrible, though other classes [like the mesmer and elementalist] have better "special" attributes. But remember that your primary profession determines what armor you can use.

I have a monk/necro and an elementalist/monk that are both doing pretty well. As long as you stick with the healer sort, it probably doesn't matter too much what your secondary is. The world always needs mre healers...

Railen Shatterskull
04-05-2005, 22:58