PDA

View Full Version : The Spellsword

Mariers Arnimane
17-05-2005, 14:19
I started playing GW as a PvE player, and I enjoy that greatly. However, I wanted to try to enjoy the PvP part as well, so I made a "mimic" of my primary character, Mariers Arnimane (Mesmer/Warrior)--and thus his sister was born.

I love fighter mages (Magic User/Warrior). I don't really see too many of them around, actually. Mariers is great in PvE (Domination/Sword). I believe his sister could be great in PvP, but because of the randomness of the 4x4 arena (having no monk sucks), she fails miserably. I am almost often blamed (and only by W/Mo characters, I've noticed) to be "the weakest character" in the group. When I try to get an organized group for the other arena in the snow cave, no one wants me or wants to join me, or blames me for doing nothing.

Don't they notice all the times I've interrupted Elementalists' devastating spells? Or a monk's resurrect/people's Res Signets? I can also deal a good amount of damage with my weapon. About the only thing I can't do is heal myself, and if we don't have a monk, then I'm screwed. And at fault, it seems.

Is this truly the worth of a spellsword in PvP? I believe they could achieve much if given the chance in an organized setting. For my mesmer/warrior, the skill set I have is:

Cry of Frustration
Power Spike
Power Leak
For Great Justice
Galrath Slash
Sever Artery
Gash
Resurrection Signet

On the side note, I'm very new to PvP, so I know this might not be the best setup or I just don't have enough experience. However, I believe that this setup would be excellent against a magic user.

I understand about armor issues. Magic users don't have the insane armor that warrior primaries have or the armor penetration bonus from strength. However, I can't stand being a warrior primary because of the 20 energy and slow regeneration. I feel that magic can more than make up for brute strength. I'm a magic user by heart. ;)