PDA

View Full Version : Yet another new Mesmer

Laeryn Whitestorm
01-06-2005, 10:17
Not to add to the "I'm new to GW help make me l33t plzzz!" threads, but I was hoping to get some help. My 14 Me/E seems to do great in PvE but I very rarely do better than fair in an arena match. I have:
6 Fast Cast
8+1 Dom
4 Insp
4 Ill

My bar has:
Empathy
Backfire
Ether Feast
Diversion
Conjure Phantasm
Power Spike
Energy Burn
Res Sig

I only recently got to Yak's Bend so my problem might just be missing the more powerful spells. Anyway, my goal when I started was to be pretty much anti-caster, but I struggle taking down opposing monks. Backfire works great in PvE but is it worthwhile in PvP with its short duration and heavy energy cost? What's more, Orison and other low level monk heals have such fast cast times that they're extremely difficult to interrupt (or I really need to work on my timing). I try to use Backfire and Phantasm to keep the damage coming and then use the interrupts when they try to heal. Pretty soon I'm out of energy. Am I doing something totally wrong here? Thanks.

Laeryn Whitestorm

FowerFighter
01-06-2005, 10:45
You could use inspration for energy, for example switching powerspike with power drain will get ya 15 energy each interrupt if I remember correct

Saikyo
01-06-2005, 11:27
I'm not sure empathy really fits in there if you are going anti-caster. Backfire is a good spell even though it only lasts 10 seconds. And with 9 points in domination I imagine it would do a decent amount of damage.

I think you are spreading your points too thin between inspiration and illusion though. With only 4 points in illusion conjure phantasm isn't going to last long enough to put the pressure on the monks to heal themselves. Not only that but with only 4 points in inspiration I'm not sure if you are going to get enough health back when you use ether feast. If you have energy tap, consider putting that one in.