PDA

View Full Version : mes/monk or mes/EL?

Fancy Destruction
25-08-2005, 11:51
Hi,

I have played this game for 4 weaks now, but i am still a noob :rolleyes:
I want to make a mes but realy i dont know what second proffession is best the monk or the elementalist. I like them both.

Good somebody help me and tell me what the differance about the two is and what makes the combination special?

Thx

ps: Ik hope you can read my crappy english :p

Auntie I
25-08-2005, 14:37
First of all, since your asking for help and in a polite manner I'd have to say your not a Noob. A Noob would never ask a question since they already know it all.

My suggestion for your Mesmer is to select monk. The ability to heal may save you while your learning the ins and outs of playing a mesmer. The elementalist has the offensive skills to decimate your enemies but many of the skills are very energy intensive. Starting out I recommend the Monk Secondary. You can always try the Elementalist later.
:happy34:

Cymboric Treewalker
25-08-2005, 15:52
I always like to play a class that can get rid of conditions and hexes...

The Mesmer can get rid of hexes.

An Elementalist can do neither.

For that reason I would choose Monk of the choices you gave. You may want to consider Necromancer though as it will allow you to GIVE conditions to the other team.

Elessar the True
25-08-2005, 15:53
What makes any combination of Me/x special is your unique ability to fastcast spells. Unfortunately, you don't have the attribute points to really take advantage of this until around lvl 15 or so, so it can be easy to miss. Later on (you spend the bulk of the game at or near lvl 20 if you do all the quests), it has a huge impact.