PDA

View Full Version : recreation of Orr

Zero RoGuE
22-02-2006, 21:39
Hey I finaly got around to remakeing the orr continent.(before the Catacysm)

I took the in game map and did some editing and came up with this.

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/7683/orr7zt.th.jpg (http://img59.imageshack.us/my.php?image=orr7zt.jpg)

Now...where whould orr be?

Quintus Antonius
22-02-2006, 22:09
Because of the nature of the crater, and the surrounding blast pocks that let the water flow into the crater, I would say Orr is dead center of that peninsula.

Well, techinically, Orr is the entire peninsula. Arah would be dead-center.

Barinthus
22-02-2006, 23:23
I concur with Quintus here

EliteMongoose
23-02-2006, 02:53
Sorry to sound like a noob here, but what's the cataclysm? I'm guessing that Zero mispelled it, but it may be catacysm. Also, can someone explain what arrah is? I know it's the center of the island chain thing off of the desert peninsula, but what is it?

Scott the Green
23-02-2006, 05:00
Arah was the capital of Orr, and was a centre of divine power on Tyria. When the charr attacked Orr, Vizier Khilbron descended into the forbidden temples beneath the city and found forbidden magics there. By wielding the magic against the charr, he repelled them but also destroyed the entire peninsula, and the country of Orr with it.

Arah is linked to a lot of legends, but I don't have my booklet onhand and am typing from memory here. I might be significantly wrong about everything.

Stardrake
23-02-2006, 05:30
I believe is used to be the city of the gods - it was where King Doric journeyed to request that the gift of magic be withdrawn (which led to the creation and shattering of the Bloodstones, splitting the four magic types that are seen in Chapter 1).

I'm not sure if there's anything in the lore about when the city was settled by humans and whether humans and gods ever cohabited or whether humans simply took over after the Gods left.

EliteMongoose
23-02-2006, 06:34