PDA

View Full Version : Omg! Yuck!



Banes Son
30-03-2006, 17:16
What's with the nasty full size popup ads? I never got them here before and it's the same one everything I load the board again.

And I'm not getting them anywhere else either, so WTF?

PLEASE! for the love of God! Make it STOP!

Der Dokter
30-03-2006, 17:38
Or become a PAL.:smiley:

MixedVariety
30-03-2006, 17:44
I'm not sure we're supposed to be getting this kind of ad, though. If it's the same ad, it pops up instead of the page you're trying to load, and you have to click on 'Skip Ad and Continue to Page', or something like that, to get past it. The one I keep getting is for the Marriot hotels.

I'm going to move this to Forum Support. I think it's been mentioned already a few times.

Banes Son
30-03-2006, 18:02
Thanks MV, I don't mind a few the 1st time you load a page, but this again and again thing has got to stop. This is my favorite source for GW and it has the BEST mods. Help!

Fallen_62
30-03-2006, 18:24
I honestly have never gotten that from GWO... I have had people tell me about it, and I even had a screenie sent about it, but never had it happen. I will ask Rush and/or Elly if we are actually sposed to get these kinds of adds. In the mean time, can you take a screenie of them, host them on imageshack or something, and post the link here?

Ashberry
30-03-2006, 18:27
Some of those browser helper toolbars and other additions can have such things in them, supposedly to cover the cost of making them but we all know they do it for the amount of money they can make offering ad space to companies in a way you can't avoid. So I'd run a few spyware checks. MSantispryware, spybot, ad-aware etc. Should pick something up if there's a problem.

Banes Son
30-03-2006, 19:20
Gah! so I tried to get some SS's, but even closing the GWonline session and starting it again doesn't get the ads to pop. Must be due to the mighty power of the pen! TY for the followup Fallen.

MixedVariety
30-03-2006, 21:52
I did take a screenshot! I was on it last week when it first popped up.

I, uh, just can't figure out where my computer puts the screenshots. Sigh...

Fallen_62
30-03-2006, 23:03
I did take a screenshot! I was on it last week when it first popped up.

I, uh, just can't figure out where my computer puts the screenshots. Sigh...

When you hit the Print Screen button on your computer, it basically just copies a picture to the clipboard, and you need to go into paint or something and paste it into it and save it as a picture. So, if you restarted, copied, or cut anything since you took the screenie, you no longer have it. Sorry MV :(

necroshmancer
30-03-2006, 23:18
I've never gotten anything like this on any of the computers I check gwonline from. I do use firefox on every computer but that doesn't mean it's supposed to be there. Do a thorough virus and spyware check on your computer and I would suggest downloading hijackthis and saving a logfile. PM it to me or post here here if there is anything you think is bad, don't go deleting anything until you get an outside opinion.

bellissima
30-03-2006, 23:43
I've seen these full page ads before also... I just figured it was my punishment for only being a bronze PAL. :wink: Next time it happens, I'll grab a screenie.

MixedVariety
31-03-2006, 00:13
Notepad???

Banes Son
31-03-2006, 01:43
OK, this is strange, it's only happening on my work pc (which I am not nearly as picky about keeping clean)as my home (GW!!!!!) pc doesn't have the issue.
I'll scan it in the morning, cause I'm thinking now that it ain't GWonline's problem any more. Sorry for the fuss.

Banes Son
31-03-2006, 01:47
I've never gotten anything like this on any of the computers I check gwonline from. I do use firefox on every computer but that doesn't mean it's supposed to be there. Do a thorough virus and spyware check on your computer and I would suggest downloading hijackthis and saving a logfile. PM it to me or post here here if there is anything you think is bad, don't go deleting anything until you get an outside opinion.

TY for the thoughts, but I am supposed to be good at this kinda thing :laugh:
or at least that's what they pay me for......

defrule
31-03-2006, 01:54
Marriot Hotel ad? Thats a new one. I've never seen any popup ads on this forum. I wonder why diff ppl are seeing diff ones.

calderstrake
31-03-2006, 03:11
I did take a screenshot! I was on it last week when it first popped up.

I, uh, just can't figure out where my computer puts the screenshots. Sigh...Just to follow up on what Ryan said...

When you use Print Screen or Alt + Print Screen, it puts the screen capture in a buffer just like when you Copy [Ctrl +C] or Cut [Ctrl +X]. you will need to open MS Paint (or a better application like Photoshop if you have it) and Paste [Ctrl +V] the screenshot into a new image file. I recommend saving the file as a *.jpg because *.bmp files are usually too large to send easily and will eat up your storage limit!

MixedVariety
31-03-2006, 17:24
Thanks to Calder et. al., here's a screenie of what occasionally pops up for me. It seems to be linked somehow with the banner at the top of the page, which I do not click on. Sorry it's so huge but I thought if I shrank it some detail might be left out:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/ummanumma/MarriottAdvert.jpg

Fallen_62
31-03-2006, 17:31
I talked to Rush (Thanks for the screenie, MV), and he said that he doesn't think they belong to us (nor do I), but he is going to check the code for the banners, as he is redoing our ad server this weekend, anyway.

Malhavoc Adhamar
31-03-2006, 19:39
Might be an idea to run a scan with your spyware remover and see if some how you've gotten a spybot that makes these full screen ads appear now and then.

I would also possibly clear out everything in the cookies and cashe files (Firefox 1.5 users Tools->Clear Private Data).

Banes Son
31-03-2006, 20:01
OMG! YUCK! I am SO ashamed! GAH! Adaware found EZULA and GAIN and 184 other nasty little bugs on my work system, I should be dragged off and SHOT!
Sure hope the guys I work with don't find this out, they'll dog me into Oblivion. Anyway, after the Cleansing, all is well in my little part of the world. Thanks again for proving that GWonline has the best Mods. EVER!

MixedVariety
31-03-2006, 21:08
Really don't think it's the computer. First of all, I'm getting this on both my computer at work, and at home. Second, the picture and parts of the ad are exactly the same as the small banner ad that occasionally pops up on the top of the page. Plus I've been running Spybot, Adaware and my antivirus on a daily basis and have had nothing new presenting itself. Thirdly, the only place I ever get this ad is on this forum.

Look, all I have to do is click on that 'skip ad' thing and it goes away. I thought you guys'd like to know about it, though.

defrule
31-03-2006, 22:20
If it was a problem with the site then we should all be getting this advert. I haven't seen any and I think most of the ppl here in GWonline have seen non. It can online be some sort of spyware.

Speaking of which the only advert I do get repeatedly is the WinFixer one. A lot of sites seem to have it.

bellissima
01-04-2006, 02:55
It happened to me again today. I got a screenie:

http://img336.imageshack.us/img336/6332/project1medium2ag.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

This happens to me on multiple machines. I haven't installed any new software recently. My machines are firewalled and my browsers have high privacy and security settings for most sites (gwo is explicitely listed as one of a couple sites allowed to leave cookies on my box). I have both spyware and virus software installed. It happens only on forums.gwonline.net, not any other websites I browse. I think this is an ad this site is redirecting me to, not some subversive program on my system. I started noticing it just a couple weeks ago and assumed it was part of this site's banners and such until I saw this thread.

Hope it helps.

MixedVariety
01-04-2006, 05:33
And, I got the same thing on my work computer. When I click the ad, as I said, the banner at the top has the same ad. It must be forcing a full-page ad through:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/ummanumma/Marriott_Banner2.jpg

Fallen_62
01-04-2006, 06:45
If you can edit that pic yet, MV, I would blank out the name of your inbox and title of the thread :wink:

MixedVariety
01-04-2006, 20:33
Yeah, I'll work on that, good idea. That happened to be the page I was on when the ad came up.

JasonLa
01-04-2006, 21:49
Is it possible that those this is happening to have some sort of adware installed? In the XP screen shot of the popup I see you are using IE with google toolbar and it uses an adware thing I believe that is not recognised by spyware removers. Because its a browser helper object that uses a different method. But the key is if you don't want to worry about add popups due to browser hijacks or adware get firefox. I have yet to get a single unwanted popup with it in all the time I've used it since it nearly 1st came out I think that my 1st version I got was 0.5. On top of that you can do so much more stuff with it like tabbed browsing so you don't have to open multiple windows. Literally tons of plugins and addons that are free and enhance your browsing experiences or aid you in some way. But at the same time unlike addons of IE that tend to nearly all of them be some sort of adware/spyware, the ones for firefox you don't have to worry about that because alot of them are opensource.

Gangrel
01-04-2006, 22:27
Do not use Internet Explorer.. EVER... You might aswell shoot your computer now to put it out of its misery...


Download Firefox http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

Fallen_62
01-04-2006, 22:32
I would like to take the time now to remind everyone that ad-blocking software is against our ToS, and we request that you allow the ads to our site so that we can keep the site afload.

And Gangrel, I agree with you, but some people dont like Firefox, and as bad as IE was, it has gotten somewhat better...

MixedVariety
02-04-2006, 00:10
I like Firefox a bit, even if it is a CPU hog, but that isn't the point. First of all, at work I have to use what they provide, which is IE. Second of all, there is nothing any different about either computer I use; nothing has changed. I have plenty of firewalls, virus scanners. blah blah...especially on the work computer, where they are super-security conscious.

My point is, if I'm getting this stuff, and I'm fairly good about protecting my computer, there are probably a lot of people getting it. And it's only this one ad that does it. The banners at the top of the page, as far as I know, shouldn't be trying to push a full-page ad of the same thing, but it is.

And yeah...this site requires that you allow popup ads, so...

Plus, Gangrel, I hear what you are saying about IE vs. Firefox, but frankly, IE works fine usually and there's no reason for the average computer user to change.

Anyway, looky here. I saw this thread, thought I'd put in my two cents, and really don't want to turn it into a 'What's the best browser' fiasco. I think the ad is sleazy, I personally think a lot of people probably are getting it, and nothing I do to my computer is going to change that, except increasing the security on my browser. Which has effects I don't always like.

JasonLa
02-04-2006, 01:04
There is are popup blockers you can use with IE and I believe some ISPs now offer addin software for IE in the form of a toolbar or something that also blocks popups. You will still get the banner adds that provide revenue for the site to continue running but isn't the company that is doing the popup violating its terms with gwonline by generating a popup add? I don't get any popups in firefox, but I get all the banner adds. I'm not violating terms of use by turning off flash to avoid the flash banners though am I? Because flash adds make it near impposible to browse gwonline no matter what I use IE or firefox because those darn flash adds max out CPU and ram usage when normally browsing only uses a few % of the CPU and 20% of my ram.

Seef II
02-04-2006, 20:11
Unless you're on a Pentium 2 or something, surfing should be well within the limits of your computer. Adblock is a sensitive topic among forum admins so to be safe, don't disable the banners.

Lemonparty
02-04-2006, 21:00
Those popup ads never seem to work for me, maybe I should get a better browser...

JasonLa
04-04-2006, 21:28
Unless you're on a Pentium 2 or something, surfing should be well within the limits of your computer. Adblock is a sensitive topic among forum admins so to be safe, don't disable the banners.

This is true only when your not multitasking and also not viewing sites that use flash adds. I multitask big time when on my pc and flash add sites bog my system down and I have 1.9ghz cpu and 1 GB of ram. So I turn off flash when multitasking and the content I want to see doesn't require it. I can have 50 web pages open at the same time while multitasking and still have plenty of system resources to run more stuff, but when a site uses flash adds I can only have about 5 or less pages open while multitasking depending on how invasive those flash adds are.

Dzierzy Mierz
05-04-2006, 02:17
I get that ad every few days or so. One time...then it's gone for a few days. I use IE and Firefox, depending on my mood, or where I am going on the net.

I have run my spyware removers, and I don't use the google/yahoo/msn/other flavor taskbars.

As for the banners. I recently moved to the USA from Germany (2 months ago). When I was in Germany, I almost never saw the banners whether on firefox or IE. For the most part, I got white rectangles. Here I thought for the longest time that the hubby had put some banner blocker on my compi, and that I should be shamed (edited to add: no worries, he didn't...I finally got brave enough to ask him, but I was worried for a bit....too worried to ask, for fear of the answer). But, then, here I am in the USA, on the exact same computer, and the banners all work! Only thing I can guess is that some of the ads are American only ads? I get the banners on firefox as well.

Am 1/2way tempted to sit on firefox and hit refresh over and over to see if I can get the marriot ad to pop up there....maybe somemore cold medicine, and I will! haha

boycot marriot!!!! No wait....nerf marriot!!!! hahaha

Elly
06-04-2006, 00:30
We don't have the pop up advert code on the forums. We don't have them anywhere on the site.

If a top banner is causing something to open you need to take a screendump of it and post it here or send it to rush@loadedinc.com and he'll take a look at it.

MixedVariety
06-04-2006, 12:55
Screenshots are scattered here throughout this thread. Is that the same thing as a screendump? Anyway, if very few people are getting this ad, and you can click right past it (it isn't as if it's a browser hijacker or something) then I suppose it isn't really a problem.

Mr Panda
06-04-2006, 14:53
Actually MV, thats a good point; I just thought, if its limited to just a very few people, and as Elly says, there is no popup advert code on the site...

Then the implication is that the people with the problems could have spyware/adware of some sort, I know I've had adware before that popper up adverts...

Qutar
06-04-2006, 19:24
:shocked: :unimpressed:

[img=http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/7407/gwonlinead4xo.th.jpg] (http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gwonlinead4xo.jpg)

MixedVariety
06-04-2006, 20:47
:shocked: :unimpressed:

[img=http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/7407/gwonlinead4xo.th.jpg] (http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gwonlinead4xo.jpg)

Yikes! Now that sure shouldn't be there on our front page.

Xandlyn
06-04-2006, 22:33
Hmmm, I've never had that pop up on my computer. I use Firefox at home and at work (dl it myself at work). But I do notice I get pop ups when I click on image shack links. Maybe a conenction?...maybe not.

Also you may want to give spybot search and destroy a shot. http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html Doesn't hurt to see if you have anything hidng out on your computer. In fact I need to update mine.

Dzierzy Mierz
17-04-2006, 00:44
Well, apparently Marriot has been nerfified. I haven't seen that one in weeks....but today, I got one for ITT Tech. And I was on the hubby's computer, which was surprising, since his is uber tight on security due to his job. Just don't tell him I was using it teehee

Anyway, the ITT Technical Institue one looked just like the Marriot.

djxiii
19-04-2006, 19:17
Today I had 4 repeated requests to install an adults-only software package. I've never had that happen before on this PC. I didn't think to take a screenshot but came here to see if this was already known. I will definitely take a screenshot of it if it happens again. The ad on the site at that time was the Intimate One banner in the bottom banner field.

Fay Vert
19-04-2006, 19:33
I just came on to complain about the adverts on this site and saw this thread.

I suspect there is not a lot that can be done about the adserver used. But I was pretty pissed off at one site trying to install malware on me, this is illegal.

btw, different people get to see different adverts as the ad-servers do it depending on the clients region. They also use tracking cookies to analyse your surfing trends. Another think illegal in many countries.

Not what I would expect of an elite status site. Is anyone high up in running this site looking at this problem?

Also


Do not use Internet Explorer.. EVER... You might aswell shoot your computer now to put it out of its misery...

This is very bad advise given by somebody who does not know anything about computers. It is also completely irrelevant to this problem.

djxiii
25-04-2006, 18:56
http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/178/gwforum16sk.th.gif (http://img269.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gwforum16sk.gif)

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/1166/gwforum24pq.th.gif (http://img269.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gwforum24pq.gif)

Just a couple examples of what my son has described as the "steady decline of gwo." Fairly astute for a 13 yr old. I hope you find some better sponsors.

As a 40 yr old dad, I would just like to point out that becky5633 is pretty hot. :wink:

Demented Soul
25-04-2006, 20:46
Just a couple examples of what my son has described as the "steady decline of gwo." Fairly astute for a 13 yr old. I hope you find some better sponsors.

As a 40 yr old dad, I would just like to point out that becky5633 is pretty hot. :wink:

Seems she also lives in europe and is 2 years younger too! :rolleyes:

http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/1065/ifjh4ih.th.jpg (http://img111.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ifjh4ih.jpg)

lol...

djxiii
25-04-2006, 23:58
Seems she also lives in europe and is 2 years younger too! :rolleyes:

lol...


I feel so cheated! :laugh:

JasonLa
26-04-2006, 00:19
I pointed out a couple months ago or more about the inapropriateness of those adds for a fan site of a game rated teen. I'm rather disapointed to see they are still being loaded by the advertisers. There are adds from mate1 much more provocative boardering on soft core porn than those you got screenshots of. I seen one where it was waist up and the only thing not seen was her nipples because her arm was covering them.