PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob question about Bonding Monks

HomelessBob
12-02-2007, 18:49
Okay i'm a healing ritualist and i pair up with a Bonding monk for the Naphui quarter mission. Before the start of the mission he warned the team that he doesn't heal and that he needs me to keep him alive. At the start he bonded all 8 team members and for the rest of the mission i just bailed him out when his health got below 50%. I guess what i'm asking is that when you bond all 8 teamates you'll just be at 0 energy the whole time? Will the enchants still maintain when you have 0 energy? So as a bonding monk is the only skill you bring is a ressurect and life bond? Either way i've never had an easier time getting masters on Naphui.

windcaller
12-02-2007, 19:21
A bonder has actually 15 bonds kept up (if it's a decent bonder).

So, his bar should've been something like this:
Life Barrier
Life Bond
Balthasar's Spirit
skill of choice
skill of choice
Mantra of Inscriptions
Blessed Signet
Rebirth

If he had only 8 bonds he could've had Protective Spirit and Aegis easily as major damage reduction. Or condition/hex removal, especially as Rits lack hex removal he could've helped you.

Almas Darksoul
12-02-2007, 19:21
"Bond" monks maintain their energy through two main means. The first is Blessed Signet - which awards energy for every enchantment you are maintaining. The second is Balthazar's Spirit - since Life Bond redirects damage as well as reducing it, the bonder effectively takes damage every time a party member is hit by a physical attack, meaning that Balthazar's Spirit can give large amounts of energy.
If a bonders energy ever reaches 0 and he has negative energy regeneration, enough bonds will be cancelled for him to be put on to 0 energy regeneration automatically.