PDA

View Full Version : What is YOUR GW play-style?

DragonSkull
26-01-2011, 22:33
As I read the forums and watch guild chat/alliance chat I see a lot of chat regarding skills and it gets me wondering about my play-style and if I'm in the minority.

You see, I've been playing this game for nearly 5 years now and I still know very, very little about skills, builds, counters, etc. They just have never been all that important to me for what I expect from or how I play the game.

In a game like this I enjoy following the storyline, collecting precious little trinkets along the way, and striving for titles. I like to think I've been pretty successful even without a working knowledge of all the different skills and builds.

So now that I've outed myself as a closet Newb (not to be confused with a loud obnoxious Noob!) I'm curious about others take on the subject.

Dawg

Alaris
26-01-2011, 23:24
I've been a closet newb for a long time, trying skills but having close to no clue what worked or not (because normal mode is not hard). Some places challenged me a bit to come up with builds, but most of the time I was running whatever I thought was fun.

I've played every profession by now (well, except assassin which never got off the newbie island) and each time I try to play it to capture its flavor, and then to see what else it can do. For example, I tried all warrior weapons on warrior, and then even non-warrior weapons. Ranger tried traps, BHA, splinter-barrage (or volley with BHA as elite), spirit summon, even toucher (but only for lolz).

The goal was to learn something about the profession. Eventually, I started delving into making my own builds, or modifying PvX builds.

You learn to play by playing, by trying new things, and by learning from your mistakes. My learning curve was slow and leasurely, but I tried my best not to stagnate. Title-hunting allowed me to push the boundaries a bit too in hard mode. Now RA is pushing my boundaries even further.

Lady Rhonwyn