PC Gaming News
View RSS Feed

Eshenda Terrell

I'm a disabled gamer.

Rate this Entry
I don't talk about it very much, generally because it's not relevant. I have certain aids that allow me to overcome problems I have with my hands and eyesight using a computer in general. For instance I'm typing this using a speech to text program and the mouse I use is an MMO gaming mouse which allows me to play with only my right hand. I also have a Nostromo keypad which allows me to play with only my left hand. This way I can alternate hands depending on which of my hands is least painful and has the fewest muscle spasms.

Guild Wars one was very accessible. Although PVP was generally impossible, simply because I'm just not fast enough to beat another player, I could do almost everything else. I started playing a healer because that way I didn't have to worry about which direction we were going in the instance; I could just follow and heal. Herp derp. I could also click on a player and set to follow if I needed to rest my hands. In solo play I could click on the ground where I wanted my character to go and wouldn't need to hold on to the mouse.

Guild Wars two is also pretty accessible. I don't have the click to move or the ability to follow but generally it isn't an issue that I would want to kick up a fuss about. SPVP is generally impossible, as always because I'm simply not fast enough to get my skills off before another player has killed me. WVW is generally a good alternative, until I get ganked and killed off one-on-one because in a duel I just can't win. I'm too slow. However using siege and running in groups I am generally useful and have got my gift of battle.