PC Gaming News
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    GWOnline.Net Member

Necro PvP questions

I'm probably wrong on this, but Necro just doesnt seem to be a class that is particularly suited to PvP as a primary. Soul Reaping seems as if it wouldn't be particularly useful as it would in PvE, I don't see how you're going to bring minions into combat
    before the fight, and I would think that Necros would be outclassed in hexes and DOTs by mesmers.

I'd love to see some opinions on this. I'm a total newb to necros, so I may be completely off base here. I was thinking of making a necro/monk, and I'm just looking for some feedback to see if this is going to be a viable and useful PvP build. Do mesmers outclass necros at what they do best in PvP?

Thanks for any responses. Also, if you could make any comments on subclasses to go along with necro I would appreciate it. From just looking at what I know about necro, it seems it would make a better subclass than primary for PvP.

Darksier
    I'm a Necromancer/Warrior and do pretty well in PvP. I specialized in Death Magic and put some points in swords and soul reaping. What I do in PvP is create a lot of animated minions (currently lvl 8 bone horrors). I take advantage of hunter's pets and anyone who dies. (just remember to use the resurection signet afterwards ^_^) These minions cause a lot of trouble and do damage in mass. Just know that 1 won't be doing much of anything. Also the death touch attacks are great at causing lots of damage in a short period of time. This enables you to finish someone off before the healers can respond. Oh soul reaping does help, many a times a caster dies just because he didnt have the 1 extra energy point to cast the life saving spell.