PC Gaming News
    jvdais

bugged rare material trader

in my first outing to UW i find a glob of ecto and i want to sell it to the rare material trader since i don't have much use for it. The rare material trader will buy them for only 100 gold but sells them for 7.5k. My guildmate triedto sell ecto and got the same 100gold offer. somethings wrong with these algorithems, did Anet nerf traders buying prices, or did my guildmate and i just experience a glitch?

I have no idea, but I've experienced that with steel and other materials before.

My advice, sell your rare materials to players. You can sell globs for 6 platinum, easy. I've seen people sell them for more. So when you're finished in the UW, just goto a populated district and start broadcasting, you're bound to find a serious buyer.

That being said, I've also noticed that many material traders don't pay well for rare materials.

jvdais
    i figured out the problem, the traders must have a maximum amount of gold per day that they can put into the game economy and when that maximum is reached they then offer the minimum, 100 gold for that item. I sold it to a trader in the early morning the next day and got 7.5k for the glob of ecto. Therefore if you want to sell it to the trader, the morning or whenever the traders are reset, when they can offer reasonable rates, is when you should sell to them. because of this, if it isn't a bug or a one time fluke experienced last night, a savey person could manipulate the price of ecto by selling when the traders are reset to make money from the fact that no one sold ecto to them giving them, the traders, a smaller supply.

Either i'm seeing a way to manipulate the game economy or just a one time bug which sent me on a wild goose chase, but the traders should offer a reasonable trading rate at all times so a person can't make an extra 7.4k by selling 8 hours later.

Quote Originally Posted by jvdais