PC Gaming News
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

The problem with pvp and a possible solution

First off, I'm new to Pvp. Have played lots of pve but wanted to give this whole pvp thing a whirl: I've been hearing good things.

So I created a necro/messmer (two classes in pve that I think are really tough to go against) and raced through pre-searing and began pvping in the Ascalon Arena. Ok my character is a bit young (level 6) but still I really wanted to try this out. The first thing I noticed is that I suck. I don't just mean kind of suck but suck so bad that it is amazing that my character doesn't just trip over her own staff. A couple hits from a warrior and bam, I'm dead.

I just wanted to clarify my own lack of abilty before I made my complaint. You see, what I quickly realized is, that not only am I a terrible pvper but I'm also fighting against much more powerful and very well dressed opponents. Now I realize that GW is the great equalizer and that if I so wanted I could run my charcter through the various parts of the game and collect the best armor and cap some elite skills, as well as some other very nice one. And for those people who enjoy that kind of play more power to you I've run more than a couple of you to forge and I'll probably run more of you in the future.

But, it would be nice if there was a low level arena for those of us who want to take it slowly. See having never played a necro or a Mesmer as well as having never PVPed, I see the low level arenas as a kind of learning place. A place to experiment with various skills and to improve your technique. There is something very nice about only have a dozen or so skills to experiment with, you really get the feel of each skill.