PC Gaming News

Elemental Weapon Mods

I have been playing for nearly a year, (2 months till that b-day pet). I was wondering what is the best elemental mod for a Bow according to you, the reader?

This questions stems from the fact that I have a Shocking ShortBow and was thinking changing the shocking prefix to some other elemental power, Perhaps Ebon of Fiery....what do you you think?

What i'm considering:
    Icy bow string
    Fiery bow string
    Shocking (Its currently shocking....so I would do nothing)
    Ebon Bow string

PS, Ive got a Poisonous LongBow so lets leave the Poisonous mods out....Plus Im not looking to spend a fortune for a sundering mod

I think elemental resistances/weakness are pretty evenly distributed. While one string may be more effective than another in certain situations (i.e. a Fiery weapon would do more damage than an Icy one in the Shiverpeaks, while the reverse would be true in the Ring of Fire), overall there's no element that's prevailently more effective.

From what I've seen, most people use elemental mods to deal extra damage to warriors or other characters with +damage vs. physical, or for specialized builds like Spinal Shivers or Glimmering Mark. If you want a more general mod that'll do more damage to everything, take a Vampiric or Sundering mod.

PvE: Firey. There are quite a few monster types that take extra damage from fire.

PvP: Ebon. Rangers don't have a set of armor that gives extra AL vs Earth. Hardly anyone wears Geomancer's. So that tells me that an Ebon bow will do higher damage on a more consistent basis than any of the other strings.

^^ Vampiric or Sundering? No point, just say Vampiric - the only thing more useless than Sundering is having no mod at all.

Anyhoo for elements, I'd say either Ebon, Fiery or Icy for PvE, or definately Ebon for PvP.